A very special gift

 

Most of you know that I was born with cerebral palsy and that most of the time I try to stay as positive as possible. But there is one aspect of my cp that hits me very very hard from time to time. and that’s knowing that for reasons beyond my control. I’ll never be able to have a child of my own. Before anyone asks, yes I did look briefly into adopting a child but quickly dropped that idea because I am physically and financially unable to give a child everything it deserves, If children could live solely on love, it wouldn’t be an issue, and I would adopt in a heartbeat. Sadly though, that’s not how raising a child works. At least not if you’re a parent who truly is interested in giving your child the life he or she deserves. 

This is why Mother’s day is always a particularly difficult day for me. Or it was. I use the word was because that is no longer going to be the case. One of my dearest friends is going to become a Grandfather very soon now, and he passed on a message to me from his daughter. The message was to ask me to be the godmother of her soon to arrive daughter. Of course, I accepted immediately. This is very special and meaningful to me given the circumstances which I’ve just described, and I cannot begin to express how much this means to me. A hole in my heart has now been filled, And to know that I will have an opportunity to help to raise little Tinkerbell (my nickname for my goddaughter) means more to me than anyone can possibly know. 

7 thoughts on “A very special gift

  1. I get it. Having my two godsons in my life has made it, frankly, bearable to carry on going, knowing that having my own children is just a pipe-dream. Really happy for you Millie. You so deserve this happiness xx

Leave a comment